H2020-FTI-STILORMADE

This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement no° 737884.


Acronym of the project: STILORMADE

Action Full Title: Highly efficient non-standard solar modules manufactured through an automated, reconfigurable mass production processes delivering 30% reduction in costs.

Call: H2020-FTIPilot-2016

Duration: 27 months – Ended 31st of March 2019

Context and objectives of the project

To address the challenges of energy and climate change, Europe has agreed binding legislation and targets for renewable growth to be achieved by 2050. As a technology nearing maturity and cost parity with fossil fuels, solar-PV has the potential to meet a significant proportion of the EU’s energy needs and represents a cornerstone of the European strategy for large scale deployment of renewable low carbon energy.
STILORMADE targets to meet the requirements of a mass market of niche application for customized (non-standard) solar PV such as:

  1. Building Integrated Photovoltaics;
  2. Public / Municipal Infrastructure: street lighting, road signs, etc.
  3. Industry: telecoms, maritime, aviation, infrastructure
  4. Developing Countries: solar home systems / lighting for off-grid areas, etc.

In this frame, an unmet market opportunity has been identified for the supply of high performance, fully customisable solar PV modules that may be manufactured using rapidly reconfigurable production processes enabling mass customisation. With technology leadership in the field of photovoltaic systems and automated manufacturing processes, Europe is uniquely positioned to reclaim manufacturing competitiveness from China due to the reduced cost of manufacturing offered by the innovation developed in the STILORMADE project.

This innovation uses the patented technology developed by S’Tile (France) that allows manufacturing modules with characteristics (Power, Voltage, Size …) that can be tailored to user’s requirements and offer design freedoms to fully integrate customized PV into architecture products without compromising performance or cost.

The consortium


Founded in 2007, S’Tile is a French SME located in Poitiers. S’Tile develops photovoltaic solutions and manufactures specific PV modules tailored to the customer’s request. S’Tile is pure player of specific panels unlike most of the generalists. The company is committed to the approaches of low carbon footprint, made in France and closer proximity to its clients.

The Atominstitut is the largest institute in the physics department of Technische Universität Wien. TU Wien possess extensive experience in the development of silicon solar cells with non-standard design and PV-modules both at the university/laboratory scale and in real commercial production environments. They also have extensive programming experience for simulations, data analysis, and machine automation.

Acciona is a leading European company, specializing in construction and management of buildings and civil infrastructures under the sustainability principles. Acciona uses cutting-edge technology to develop and apply the most advanced materials, components, systems and solutions for sustainability and in particular for energy efficient concepts, design, construction, operation and recycling of buildings. It applies to new and retrofitted buildings while preserving a high indoor environment quality. It is partner of the European Construction Technology Platform (ECTP). It is also member of the E2B Association and belongs to the Advisory Group to the EC on the PPP on Energy Efficient Buildings.

DST-Cleantech Ltd specialises in chargeable systems and monitoring systems. DST have long experience in manufacturing and operating and monitoring solar operated off-grid products. They deal with solar solutions and developing LED-based illumination devices. The company is involved with development of Environmental friendly products and safety products for the business and public sectors. The company manufactures all the various electronic systems required to activate the products using solar energy and supplies its customers with the complete solution that includes not only the electronic systems, but also the required illumination devices, batteries, and solar panels.

Work structure

Main results

Cell design

S’Tile has developed a unique pad to pad interconnection technique to interconnect solar cells. This method allows S’Tile to develop specific metallization patterns to enhance electrical properties while improving general aesthetic aspect.

Efficiency of cells and modules is strongly dependent on an appropriate current collection. Specific metallisation were optimized in terms of geometric distribution and dimension in order to minimize resistive losses while achieving minimum shading of the active surface.
Three computer programs were developed by TU Wien (Austria) to optimize the design of the metallization pattern, generate cell layout and improve their interconnection in PV modules.

More than 1,000 variations in design (number of collecting fingers, finger width …) were tested and lead to a theoretical increase of absolute cell efficiency of 0.5%, hence values above 18% on multi-crystalline silicone with standard Al-BSF structures. Manufacturing processes including specific metallization process and pad to pad interconnection step of i-Cell modules were improved and optimized on more than 10,000 cells.

Photovoltaic module manufacturing

A technology production line for STILORMADE innovative modules was implemented in S’Tile’s premises in France. It was successfully tested by manufacturing modules with wide variability of technical requirements as requested by potential partners approached during a market potential and business opportunities study. This range of modules covers applications such as charging stations, solar Street lights, solar roof tiles, weather station.

Amongst module development, glass/glass modules manufacturing was developed in order to better address BIPV applications. STILORMADE innovation was successfully tested through load resistance (snow, wind, hails), long term performance and ageing (thermal cycling, UV resistance etc.). Market readiness was finally demonstrated thanks to successful testing to all relevant standards of PV industry (IEC 612215 and 61730-1,2).

STILORMADE specific solutions was demonstrated suited to produce non flat PV modules. Under the frame of the project, S’Tile developed a particular laminating process to manufacture modules with specific shapes (wavy or bended geometries). This opens unique possibilities to address modules for applications where unusual shapes are required.

Market replication activities

Replications activities were used to validate and showcase STILORMADE innovation. Targeted applications represented the two biggest markets requiring specific PV modules: Building integrated Photovoltaic (BIPV) and Solar Street Lighting (SSL).

BIPV solar shading system for building facades

The STILORMADE BIPV shading element for facades has been installed and is currently tested in a real office building in Barcelona, owned by ACCIONA. The BIPV shading demo-system consist of the partial occupation of 3 windows galleries with 16 BIPV shading elements each one and a total number of 48 modules. Total power of the system is 9.8 kWp.

The STILORMADE BIPV shading element has been specially designed to improve the energy performance of the buildings through the renewable energy production and the thermal charges reduction. The customized design allows a great mechanical and aesthetical integration in the building facade.

The optimized electrical configuration strategy and the advanced manufacturing procedure, implemented by the French manufacturer S’Tile and the University of Wien, achieve a high power performance through the active area increase, the hidden of the inter-cell connections and the improved effectiveness of the cells’ ribbon pattern, with a good aesthetical result.

Solar roofing system

The STILORMADE innovative modules can adapt to any geometrical particular constraints found in buildings and improve the energy performance of the buildings through the renewable energy production. The customized design allows a great mechanical and aesthetical integration in the building. The optimized electrical configuration strategy and the advanced manufacturing procedure, implemented by the French manufacturer S’Tile, achieve a high power performance through the use of advanced pad to pad interconnection technology, while presenting visual appeal and adjustable transparency.

The STILORMADE innovative modules have been designed, installed and are currently tested on a real roof at the “Halles de Laissac” in the city centre of Montpellier, France. The implementation consist in covering a round roof with a total number of 865 modules. Total power of the system is 69 kWp. The generated energy will be consumed in-situ under a self-consumption regimen with injection of surplus production to the public grid. The clean appearance of the module design results in a great aesthetic solution for city integration.

The yearly power production estimated for the STILORMADE modules installed on the roof of the “Halles de Laissac” in Montpellier reaches 78,3 MWh/year. The system will contribute to decrease the electricity power bill through the photovoltaic power generation, but will also contribute to the development of photovoltaic energy acceptation. On site monitoring is in progress and demonstrates power generation in accordance with expectations.

Solar Street Light: TULIPAN model

The STILORMADE PV glass round module is specially designed to be integrated in Solar Street Lights (SSL). The customized design, the optimized electrical configuration strategy and the advanced manufacturing procedure, implemented by the French manufacturer S’Tile and the University of Wien, achieve a high power performance through the active area increase, the hidden of the inter-cell connections and the improved effectiveness of the cells’ ribbon pattern with a good aesthetical result, allowing a great integration in the Solar Street Lights.

Several demo-systems have been implemented in Spain with the aim of in order to demonstrating the feasibility of the product and gathering information from the final users and stakeholders of different sectors: construction, industry, energy, public, etc.:

  • 2 TULIP units in the facilities of the Renault factory, close to Valladolid, Valladolid.
  • 4 TULIP SSL units in the public garden located in the entrance gate to the new municipal library of Molina de Segura, Murcia.
  • 4 TULIP SSL units in the facilities of Cosentino Factory, Cantoria (Almería), a marble manufacturer for design and architecture.
  • 4 TULIP SSL units in the entrance gate to Hotel Calvia Beach The Plaza by Meliá in Calviá, close to Palma de Mallorca, Baleares.
  • 4 TULIP SSL units in one of the road access to the municipality of Tudela de Duero, Valladolid.
Entreprise Renault, Valladolid (Valladolid)
Bibliothèque municipale, Molina de Segura (Murcia)
Entreprise Cosentino, Cantora (Almería)
Hotel Meliá, Calviá (Baléares)
Route vers Tudela de Duero (Valladolid)
Installation d’un TULIPAN à l’Hotel Meliá

TULIP SSL integrates the smart and dynamic control systems Sunna Core, especially designed for NiMh batteries, which includes a patented algorithm that control the state of charge of the batteries and automatically dimmers the light at different lighting levels. The control system allows programming and managing the most suitable lighting profile, depending of the needs of the final user, in each season of the year. Remote management, real time monitoring and health diagnosis can be carried out with the help of the mobile application SunnApp.

Solar Street Light: DST model

DST CLEANTECH LTD has brought to this project many years of experience in order to integrate the STILORMADE evolutionary solar panel in it’s advanced street lights. Using a common “futuristic” design DST offers a line of street lights in varies heights and light output. The flexibility of this design helps DST to provide the best solution for parks, side walks, bicycle lanes, parking spaces, streets…

DST’s solar street light Main characteristics :

Solar panel’s output:

  • 100, 200 and 300W

In order to enable installation anywhere on the globe and still get the light output you need, DST provides several environmental friendly options:

  • All solar: a stand alone light with automatic night length detection, that uses only solar energy.
    For times and places when the solar radiation isn’t sufficient for all night operation, DST offers advanced algorithms for dimming options or human presences detection.
  • Grid assisted:an hybrid combination – a solar street light with night length detection, that uses solar energy.
    Only in cases when the batteries are empty (bad weather…) the light start to use electric energy from the grid and continues to provide full power lighting.
  • Grid timing: the solar street light uses the connection to the grid to “know” the on/off timing. Only in cases when the batteries are empty (bad weather…) the light start to use electric energy from the grid and continues to provide full power lighting.

Downloading resources

Promotional materials

Public deliverables

H2020-FTI-STILORMADE

Ce projet a reçu un financement de l’Union Européenne dans le cadre du programme de recherche et d’innovation H2020 – Convention de subvention N° 737884


Acronyme du project: STILORMADE

Intitulé complet: Highly efficient non-standard solar modules manufactured through an automated, reconfigurable mass production processes delivering 30% reduction in costs.

Appel à projet: H2020-FTIPilot-2016

Durée: 27 months – Fini le 31 Mars 2019

Contexte et objectifs du projet

En réponse aux problèmes de changement climatique et de transition énergétique, l’Europe a approuvé une législation contraignante portant sur la croissance des énergies renouvelables à atteindre d’ici 2050. Le solaire photovoltaïque (PV) a le potentiel pour répondre en grande partie à cette problématique en raison de sa maturité technologique et de sa compétitivité face aux énergies fossiles. Pour cela, le photovoltaïque représente un pilier majeur de la stratégie Européenne en vue du déploiement à grande échelle d’énergie renouvelable à faible bilan carbone.
Le projet STILORMADE vise à satisfaire les besoins spécifiques d’un marché d’applications de niche nécessitant des modules solaires PV non standards :

  1. PV intégré à l’architecture (BIPV, Building Integrated Photovoltaics)
  2. Infrastructures publiques/municipales : lampadaires, signalisation, etc.
  3. Applications industrielles : télécom, maritime offshore, aviation
  4. Pays émergents : systèmes autonomes …

Il apparait ainsi une opportunité de marché pour la fourniture de modules photovoltaïques de hauts rendements, fortement personnalisable selon l’application et produits selon des procédés rapidement reconfigurables. Grâce à son leadership dans les domaines des systèmes photovoltaïques et de l’automatisation, l’Europe occupe une position unique pour retrouver sa compétitivité dans le secteur du solaire PV, grâce à la réduction des coûts de fabrication offerts par l’innovation développée dans le projet STILORMADE.

Cette innovation profite de la technologie brevetée développée par S’Tile (France) permettant de produire des modules photovoltaïques dont les caractéristiques (Taille, puissance, tension …) peuvent être ajustées sur mesure aux besoins des clients. En outre, cette technologie offre une liberté de conception rendant possible d’intégrer les produits PV dans l’architecture sans altérer la performance énergétique ou le coût.

Les partenaires


Fondée en 2007, S’Tile est une PME Française implantée à Poitiers. S’Tile développe des solutions photovoltaïques. L’entreprise se démarque par sa spécialisation dans la fabrication de panneaux PV spécifiques à la demande du client. S’Tile est engagée dans une démarche de fabrication Française à faible bilan carbone et proche de ses clients.

L’Atominstitut de l’Université Technique de Vienne possède une grande expérience dans la mise au point de cellules et modules solaires spécifiques. Son savoir-faire inclut le développement d’outils de conception et de simulation de la performance électrique mais aussi le développement de procédés automatiques de fabrication à l’échelle laboratoire et préindustrielle.

Acciona est une entreprise leader dans les domaines de la construction et de la gestion de bâtiments et infrastructures civiles. Acciona utilise des technologies de pointe pour développer et mettre en pratique des matériaux, composants, systèmes ou solutions avancées dans une vision de réduction de l’impact environnemental. Ses efforts portent en particulier sur les concepts d’efficacité énergétique, de conception, de construction, et de recyclage. Acciona est membre de la plateforme technologique européenne de la construction (ECTP). L’entreprise est également membre de l’association E2B et appartient au groupe de consultation de la CE sur les bâtiments économes en énergies.

DST-Cleantech Ltd fabrique tous les systèmes électroniques nécessaires à l’utilisation de l’énergie solaire. DST propose à ses clients des solutions complètes incluant les systèmes électroniques, les panneaux solaires, les appareils d’éclairage et les batteries. L’entreprise participe à la mise au point de produits respectueux de l’environnement pour les secteurs privés et publiques.

Structure de travail

Principaux résultats

Conception de la cellule solaire

S’Tile a développé un procédé unique d’interconnexion de cellules solaires. Cette méthode permet à S’Tile de développer des dessins de métallisation particuliers pour accroitre le rendement énergétique tout en améliorant l’aspect esthétique général.

Le rendement des cellules et modules est fortement dépendant de la qualité de collection du courant généré. La distribution géométrique et les dimensions des métallisations sont spécifiquement optimisées pour réduire les pertes résistives tout en minimisant les pertes liées à l’ombrage de la surface active.
TU Wien a développé trois outils informatiques pour i) parfaire le dessin de métallisation; ii) générer la répartition spatiale des cellules dans le module et iii) dimensionner leurs modes d’interconnexion.

Des tests numériques portant sur plus de 1000 variations de dessins (nombre de lignes de collection, épaisseur des traits …) ont abouti à un accroissement du rendement des cellules solaires de 0,5% absolu. Des valeurs supérieures à 18% sont ainsi obtenus sur des cellules en silicium multicristallin et structure Al-BSF. Par ailleurs, ces résultats ont été confirmés expérimentalement par optimisation des procédés de fabrication sur plus de 10 000 cellules.

Fabrication des modules photovoltaïques spécifiques

Une ligne pilote de fabrication des modules STILORMADE a été mise en place dans les locaux de S’Tile, en France. Cette ligne a été testée avec succès à travers la fabrication de nombreux modules spécifiques. Ces derniers répondent à un large panel de demandes particulières sollicitées par des partenaires potentiels identifies au cors d’une étude de marché préalable. Ces applications couvrent des domaines tells que des stations de charge, des lampadaires solaires, des tuiles solaires ou encore des stations météorologiques.

Parmi les développements techniques du projet, un procédé de fabrication de modules bi-verre a été mis en place afin de répondre aux besoins du marché du BIPV. L’innovation STILORMADE a été validée à travers des tests de charge mécanique (neige, vent, grêle) ou de vieillissement accéléré (cyclage thermique, résistance aux UV, etc.). La disponibilité marché a enfin été démontrée grâce à l’obtention des certificats répondant aux normes usuelles du domaine photovoltaïque (IEC 612215 and 61730-1,2).

La solution technique STILORMADE a de plus démontré sa capacité à fabriquer des modules PV non plats. Dans le cadre du projet, un procédé particulier de lamination a été développé par S’Tile, dans le but de produire des modules de formes particulières (ondulation ou courbure simple). Ce résultat ouvre des possibilités uniques vers de nouveaux marchés.

Projet de démonstration commerciale

L’innovation STILORMADE a été validée et mise en valeur à travers des projets pilotes de première application commerciale. Ces projets concernent les deux plus grands marchés nécessitant des modules PV spécifiques: Le Photovoltaïque intégré au bâti (BIPV) et les lampadaires solaires

Système de pare-soleil intégré en façade

Le système de pare-soleil pour façade de bâtiment est installé et en cours de test à Barcelone, sur l’immeuble de bureaux ACCIONA. Le dispositif concerne l’installation de 48 modules photovoltaïques répartis sur trois étages et représentant une puissance totale de 9,8 kWc.

Ce système de pare-soleil est conçu pour améliorer l’efficacité énergétique des bâtiments grâce à la génération d’énergie renouvelable et la réduction des dépenses thermiques (climatisation). La conception du produit permet une excellente intégration mécanique et esthétique sur la façade du bâtiment.

Les configurations électriques choisies et les procédés avancés de fabrication mis en place par TU Wien et S’Tile donnent lieu à des hautes performances énergétiques. Ces performances s’appuient sur un accroissement des surfaces actives, le masquage des connexions électriques et l’amélioration de l’efficacité des cellules.

Système de toiture solaire

Les modules innovants STILORMADE peuvent s’adapter à la plupart des contraintes géométriques rencontrées dans le bâtiment et améliorent leur performance énergétique grâce à la production d’énergie renouvelable. La conception sur mesure du système garantit une excellente intégration mécanique et esthétique dans le bâtiment. Une efficacité élevée est obtenue grâce au procédé avancé de connexion des cellules « pad to pad » développé par S’Tile. Cette méthode, alliée aux modèles de métallisation spécifiques, autorise l’obtention d’un niveau de transparence ajustable tout en présentant un aspect visuel novateur.

Les modules innovants STILORMADE ont été installés sur la couverture des Halles de Laissac dans le centre ville de Montpellier. L’installation consiste à couvrir une toiture ronde à l’aide de 865 modules répartis en cinq couronnes. La puissance totale du système s’élève à 69 kWc. L’énergie générée est consommée in situ sous un régime d’autoconsommation dont la production excédentaire est injectée dans le réseau publique. L’attractivité visuelle de cette solution contribue au développement de l’image positive de l’agglomération.

La production annuelle des modules STILORMADE installés sur la toiture des Halles de Laissac est estimée à hauteur de 78,3 MWh.
Ce système contribue à réduire la facture énergétique grâce à la génération d’électricité photovoltaïque et participe pleinement à l’effort d’acceptation de cette énergie par les collectivités et les citoyens.
Un système de suivi de la production est mis en place et démontre une adéquation entre les estimations de productivité et la performance réelle du système.

Lampadaires solaires: Modèle TULIPAN

Les modules PV STILORMADE ont été spécialement conçus pour leur intégration dans des lampadaires solaires. L’entreprise S’Tile et l’université de Vienne ont conçu un module PV esthétique et une stratégie de connexion électrique optimisée pour fournir un module photovoltaïque élégant et performant. Ces performances s’appuient sur un accroissement des surfaces actives, le masquage des connexions électriques et l’amélioration de l’efficacité des cellules.

Plusieurs systèmes sont actuellement en service en Espagne. Leur objectif est de démontrer la performance du produit et obtenir un retour d’expérience de la part des utilisateurs finaux et des acteurs de secteurs variés: construction, industrie, énergie, publique…

  • 2 TULIPAN dans l’entreprise RENAULT près de Valladolid.
  • 4 TULIPAN dans le jardin publique à l’entrée de la bibliothèque municipale de Molina de Segura, Murcie
  • 4 TULIPAN dans les locaux de l’entreprise Cosentino à Cantoria (Almería)
  • 4 TULIPAN devant l’entrée de l’hôtel Calvia Beach près de Palma de Majorque, Baléares
  • 4 TULIPAN sur une route d’accès de la municipalité de Tudela de Duero, Valladolid.
Entreprise Renault, Valladolid (Valladolid)
Bibliothèque municipale, Molina de Segura (Murcia)
Entreprise Cosentino, Cantora (Almería)
Hotel Meliá, Calviá (Baléares)
Route vers Tudela de Duero (Valladolid)
Installation d’un TULIPAN à l’Hotel Meliá

Le lampadaire TULIPAN intègre un système de suivi en direct de la performance du système. Ce système est conçu spécialement pour des batteries de type NiMh. Il comprend un algorithme breveté qui suit le niveau de charge des batteries et ajuste automatiquement l’intensité lumineuse. Ce système de contrôle autorise une programmation et une gestion efficiente du profil d’éclairage, en fonction du besoin de l’utilisateur final, de la localisation et de la saison. La gestion à distance, le suivi de la performance en direct et le diagnostique de fonctionnement sont réalisés grâce à l’application mobile SunnApp.

Lampadaires solaires: Modèle DST

DST CLEANTECH LTD s’est appuyé sur sa forte expérience pour intégrer la technologie de panneaux solaires STILORMADE dans un système de lampadaire innovant. Proposant une conception de type futuriste, DST a développé une suite de produit présentant des hauteurs et des productions lumineuses variées. Cette flexibilité de conception autorise DST à fournir des solutions de choix pour les parcs, rues piétonnières, pistes cyclables, espaces de stationnement.

Principales caractéristiques du lampadaires DST :

Panneau Solaire :

  • 100, 200 ou 300W

Pour permettre l’installation partout dans le monde et adapter le flux lumineux à chaque projet, DST fournit plusieurs options de fonctionnement :

  • Tout solaire : une source lumineuse autonome avec son système de détection de l’obscurité, fonctionnant uniquement à l’énergie solaire.
    Pour les lieux et situations où le rayonnement solaire est insuffisant pour un fonctionnement sur toute la période de nuit, DST propose des options d’atténuation de la lumière ou de détection par présence humaine.
  • Assisté par le réseau : fonctionnement hybride.
    La source lumineuse et son système de détection de l’obscurité sont alimentés par l’énergie solaire.
    Lorsque les batteries sont vidées (mauvaise météo prolongée), la lumière consomme l’électricité du réseau et assure un niveau de luminosité adapté.
  • Asservi au réseau : le lampadaire est mis en phase avec le réseau pour déterminer les périodes de fonctionnement. Lorsque les batteries sont vidées (mauvaise météo prolongée), la lumière consomme l’électricité du réseau et assure un niveau de luminosité adapté.

Ressources documentaires

Matériel promotionnel

Livrables publiques